Congrats Awan Nano (performed by Hafiz; composer Dato' M. Nasir; lyricist Budi Hikayat) for winning the Anugerah Juara Lagu. It is a great song which I love (it is extremely rare for me to get hook with a Malay song) so I'm happy with the result.
And please don't give me that crap that "Malaysians are not ready for your music" dear #TeamYuna. Malaysians are not stupid. I agree that she's in a different league than the majority of the local singers and she has been very successful globally as well as locally. That means Malaysians are "ready" with her type of music although I can't work out what is it that makes people thought her music are so "different" than others. And come on, how long has she been singing before she went international? Quite long I think. I used to like her songs waaaay before she went mainstream and that... What was the title of the song again? That played on a radio and turned super shitty. "Oh bulan..." Well, compared to the original record lah. Can't remember the title, sorry. Anyone dare to enlighten me please?
She's a favorite. People expect her to win. I had not heard both Gadis Semasa and Penakut until yesterday, so I don't think I'm in a legit position to judge the quality of the song. All I can say is with performance like that... (?) Yuna menyanyi please buka mulut sikit ya sayang. Nasihat ikhlas. I couldn't work out what she was singing for God's sake, so it was very disappointing for me and turn me off to actually listen, that leads me to not even expecting her to win.
Accept the fact that she is a smart businesswoman who can make money in singing as well as in fashion line. She writes and composes her songs. She inspire people. I give her credit for all of that. But is that good enough to land her the Juara Lagu title? No. Please acknowledge the difference between a good written and composed song with meaningful (and making sense) lyrics performed by a good vocalist, and what not.
If she supposed to win yesterday, she would have win yesterday.
PS: And why the fuck she took Another Way to Die intro for her Gadis Semasa intro?
No comments:
Post a Comment